André Lasnier

Who was the first Metis child born in Canada?

Who was the first Metis child born in Canada? According to the baptism record below, André Lasnier, son of Louis Lasnier and of a Canadian woman, was the first recorded child born of the union of a European man and an Indigenous woman in Canada. The child was twelve when he was baptized in France. The text below, borrowed from  the Yarmouth Vandguard's website and the copy of the baptism record itself, confirms the existence of that Metis child, possibly the first recorded one in Canada. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

THE FIRST "CANADIAN" CHILD WITH "EUROPEAN" BLOOD OUTSIDE NEWFOUNDLAND WAS BORN AT OUR DOORSTEP.

NOTE: The information below was borrowed from the Musée Canadien's website. I was originally published in the Yarmouth Vanguard Journal, Tuesday, May 23, 1989.

Full text at: http://www.museeacadien.ca/english/archives/articles/21.htm

The document reads thus: "December 27, 1632, was baptized André Lasnier, born in Canada, on the Acadian coast, at Port LaTour, son of Louis Lasnier, native of Dieppe and of a Canadian woman. He was baptized under condition, in case he had not been baptized before. He was estimated to be 12 years old or about. His godfather was Arnaud Dumas... and his godmother was Jeanne Ferrand.”

The godparents signed the document. They are not unknown in the history of Acadia, especially in relation with Charles de LaTour. Arnaud Dumas was a prominent merchant in Libourne and one of the members of the Company of New France, which had been founded in 1627 for the development of Canada by Cardinal Richelieu, First Minister of France. It seems that Charles de LaTour, who had taken that trip to France, went directly to him when he arrived, seeking succour for Acadia, of which he was Governor.

Some learned scholars may object that André Lasnier was not necessarily the first child with European blood born in Canada, outside Newfoundland. It has been written that Louis Hebert, an apothecary, who was in Acadia, off and on, from 1606 to 1613, had had a child in Port Royal (Annapolis) in 1606; or that his wife came over in 1610. The fact is that his wife came to Canada for the first time in 1617 with the only three children that Louis Hebert ever gave her.

In Québec, in its historical realm, it has been said that one of its earliest daughters, Helene Desportes, was born between 1619 and 1621; the fact is that it is less than probable that her parents had yet arrived in Quebec in 1619.

So Port LaTour still holds the title of having witnessed the birth of the first child ever born in Canada with European blood outside Newfoundland.

André Lasnier

Qui était le premier enfant métis né au Canada?

Qui était le premier enfant métis né au Canada? Selon le registre de baptême ci-dessous, André Lasnier, fils de Louis Lasnier et d'une Canadienne, a été le premier enfant enregistré né de l'union d'un Européen et d'une autochtone au Canada. L'enfant avait douze ans quand il a été baptisé en France. Le texte ci-dessous, emprunté au site Web de Yarmouth Vandguard et la copie du registre de baptême lui-même, confirme l'existence de cet enfant métis, possiblement le premier enregistré au Canada.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

LE PREMIER ENFANT "CANADIEN" AVEC DU SANG "EUROPÉEN" EN DEHORS DE TERRE-NEUVE EST NÉ À NOTRE PORTE

NOTE: L'iformation ci-bas est empruntée du site web Musée Canadien. Elle a été publiée originalement dans le Yarmouth Vanguard Journal, Mardi le 23 mai 1989.

Texte complet à l'adresse:

http://www.museeacadien.ca/english/archives/articles/21.htm

Le document se lit comme suit: «Le 27 décembre 1632, fut baptisé André Lasnier, né au Canada, sur la côte acadienne, à Port-LaTour, fils de Louis Lasnier, originaire de Dieppe et d'une Canadienne, baptisé sous condition, en Il n'avait pas encore été baptisé, il avait environ 12 ans, son parrain était Arnaud Dumas ... et sa marraine était Jeanne Ferrand.

Les parrains ont signé le document. Ils ne sont pas inconnus dans l'histoire de l'Acadie, surtout en ce qui concerne Charles de La Tour. Arnaud Dumas était un marchand éminent à Libourne et l'un des membres de la Compagnie de la Nouvelle-France, fondée en 1627 pour le développement du Canada par le cardinal Richelieu, premier ministre de la France. Il semble que Charles de LaTour, qui avait fait ce voyage en France, se rendit directement chez lui à son arrivée, cherchant du secours pour l'Acadie, dont il était gouverneur.

Certains érudits savants peuvent objecter qu'André Lasnier n'était pas nécessairement le premier enfant de sang européen né au Canada, à l'extérieur de Terre-Neuve. Il a été écrit que Louis Hébert, apothicaire, qui était en Acadie, continuellement, de 1606 à 1613, avait eu un enfant à Port-Royal (Annapolis) en 1606; ou que sa femme soit venue en 1610. Le fait est que sa femme est venue au Canada pour la première fois en 1617 avec les trois seuls enfants que Louis Hébert lui a jamais donnés.

Au Québec, dans son domaine historique, il a été dit que l'une de ses premières filles, Hélène Desportes, est née entre 1619 et 1621; le fait est qu'il est peu probable que ses parents soient encore arrivés au Québec en 1619.

Port LaTour détient toujours le titre d'avoir été témoin de la naissance du premier enfant né au Canada avec du sang européen à l'extérieur de Terre-Neuve.